Driver License Menu

Adult Refugee/Asylee

A person who would need to obtain a Utah limited-term driver license:

  • An applicant who provides acceptable proof of their status as a refugee or an approved asylee.

Requirements for obtaining a limited-term driver license:

  • You will need to visit one of our Driver License offices.
  • You will take a photo upon arrival.
  • You will be required to pass the eye test.
  • Submit a nonrefundable fee of $32.00.
  • Bring proof of legal/lawful presence and identity (name and date of birth.)
  • Bring social security card or proof of ineligibility to obtain a social security number.  (Individuals applying for a commercial limited-term driver license are required to have and provide proof of full social security number and DOT medical card.)
  • Bring two (2) documents of Utah residence address. 
    • Visit our Required Documentation page to find out what is acceptable proof of each type of document required.
  • Because you are an adult and over the age of 19, driver education is not required, however, you have three (3) options:
    • Provide evidence of a driving privilege issued from another country; or
    • Complete a driver education course; or
    • Do not complete a driver education course and you will be required to carry a learner permit for 90 days, plus complete at least 40 hours of driving (10 hours must be at night)
  • Complete the Traffic Safety and Trends Exam (not required if providing evidence of a driving privilege from another country.)
  • Written knowledge test required and can be taken in your native language with the assistance of an interpreter approved by the Department of Workforce Services (50 questions if never licensed – 25 questions open-book if previously licensed.)
  • Driving skills test required.
    • These tests may be done through the driver education course, or if you are opting out of the driver education course, you will take the written knowledge test when you schedule your driver license appointment, and you will need to make a second appointment for the driving skills test portion after the written knowledge test is passed.)

The applicant will be allowed to renew the limited-term driver license for five (5) years without taking the exam in English. If a written knowledge test is required, the applicant may use an interpreter certified by the Department of Workforce Services or on a kiosk in their native language.

Upon the second renewal of the Utah limited-term, they will be required to pass the written knowledge test at a kiosk in English. If the applicant cannot pass the written knowledge test in English, they will not receive any driving privileges. As long as the applicant’s status is refugee or approved asylee, they will be eligible for a five (5) year limited-term driver license.


  1. Complete the driver license application online.
  2. Once you have completed the application you will be directed to schedule a renewal appointment for your visit.
  3. Click here to get started.

Note: If the name from your driver license or identity card is different than the name on your identity document (e.g., birth certificate, passport) it must be accompanied by legal documentation authorizing the name change.  These include a certified state marriage certificate, divorce decree, adoption, citizenship, guardianship, or court documents indicating the name change.

Note: By law you may not possess more than one REAL ID compliant certificate at a time (e.g., Utah driver license and a Colorado ID.)

After all requirements for a limited-term have been successfully completed, you will receive a temporary limited-term with a photo on the same day. The completed limited-term will have an expiration date of your legal presence document or 5 years, whichever is sooner; or 1-year from the date of issuance if there is not expiration date and will then be mailed to you in approximately 4-6 weeks.