Driver License Menu

Identification Card

Anyone of any age can obtain an identification card.  Although, persons under 16 years of age must have a parent or legal guardian sign for them.  DPC applicants are not eligible for an identification card.

To obtain an original identification card in Utah:

  • Schedule an appointment for your visit, or walk-in at a driver license office.
  • If you plan to walk-in for your visit you can complete the application in the office, or ahead of time online.
  • Photo will be taken.
  • Provide proof of identity, full social security number and two (2) documents of your Utah residence address. Visit our required documentation page for what is acceptable proof.
  • Submit the nonrefundable fee of $23.00.

Renew your Utah identification card
If you have received a letter by mail indicating eligibility to renew online, click here.  If you have misplaced this letter and need the PIN number required to renew online, please call our Customer Service Section at 801.965.4437 or toll free at 888.353.4224.

  • If you need to renew your Utah identification card in the office you can schedule an appointment for your visit, or walk-in at a driver license office.
  • If you plan to walk-in for your visit you can complete the application in the office, or ahead of time online.
  • Photo will be taken.
  • Provide current Utah identification card and if your residence address has changed from what is on your current identification card; or you don’t have your current identification card in possession, you will be required to provide two (2) documents of your Utah residence address.  Visit required documentation page for what is acceptable proof.
  • Submit the nonrefundable fee of $23.00.

If the name from your identification card or identity card is different than the name on your identity document (e.g., birth certificate or passport) it must be accompanied by legal documentation authorizing the name change.  These include a certified state marriage certificate, divorce decree, adoption, citizenship, guardianship, or court documents indicating the name change.


HOMELESS FEE WAIVER
The Driver License Division shall waive the application fee for a Utah identification card if the applicant provides written verification of homelessness.  Click to see a fact sheet and fee waiver form.


By law you cannot possess a Utah driver license and a Utah identification card at the same time.  

If you are no longer able to drive due to medical reasons or age, you may surrender your Utah driver license for a Utah state identification card free of charge.  You must appear in person at a Driver License office to take a photo and sign the identification card application.  

After all requirements for an identification card have been successfully completed you will receive a temporary identification card with a photo on the same day.  The completed identification card will then be mailed to you in approximately 6-8 weeks and will be valid for 5 years.