HB79 – Seat Belt Law Amendments (Effective May 12, 2015)
Utah’s seat belt law becomes a primary enforcement law and a person can be pulled over for not
wearing his or her seat belt. Previously, a person could only be issued a seat belt citation if
s/he had been pulled over for another violation. However, a peace officer may not issue a citation
to an individual for a seat belt violation under 41-6a-1803 if the person has not previously been
warned for a seat belt violation but shall issue the individual a warning informing the individual
that operating or being a passenger in a vehicle without wearing a
properly adjusted and fastened safety belt is prohibited. To find more information regarding seat
belt requirements visit:
HB340 – Voter Preregistration Amendments (Effective May 12, 2015)
Applicants applying for a driver license or identification card who are 16 or 17 years of age may
preregister to vote in an election.
SB20 – Uniform Driver License Act Amendments (Effective July 1, 2015)
The Driver License Division will no longer issue a CDL license to an applicant that is attending a
Utah driving school and is not a Utah resident.
CDL drivers that were issued a CDL learner permit that are attending a CDL training school prior to
July 1, 2015 must complete the license process by June 30, 2015 or they will not be able to
complete the licensing process nor receive a 60 day license.
Traffic Safety and Trends Exam – Driver License Testing Amendments (Effective January 1, 2016)
With the passage of HB 147 during the 2015 legislative session all applicants applying for a first time original or provisional class D license will be required to pass an additional knowledge test prior to receiving their permanent license. The exam will be available online Friday, January 1 at driverlicense.utah.gov and consist of questions covering driving safety topics and the top 5 major causes of traffic related deaths as identified by the Utah Highway Safety Office.