

COMMERCIAL DRIVER LICENSE MEDICAL SELF CERTIFICATION



49 CFR Part 383.71 and U.C.A. 53-3-410.1 require all CDL holders that operate or expect to operate a commercial motor vehicle (CMV) must meet the certification requirements outlined below. Please read the following list of options to determine which medical certification applies to the type of driving you are engaged in.

For the medical certification process to be complete, this form must be submitted to the Division:

- upon the initial issuance of any CDL or CDIP; or
- upon the upgrade of any CDL or CDIP; or
- upon the renewal of a CDL or CDIP; or
- upon the transfer of a CDL from another jurisdiction to Utah; or
- if the status indicated below changes.

Send form to: Fax # (801) 957-8633, Email dlmedcert@utah.gov, or Mail to: CDL Med Cert, PO BOX 144501 -SLC, UT 84114-4501
SELF-CERTIFICATION (Check only one box for the category that applies to you)
Non-Excepted Interstate (FEDERAL) – I meet the qualification requirements under 49 CFR 391 of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations.
 Driver drives interstate or intrastate commerce and holds a Commercial Driver License (This includes drivers that are not currently operating a Commercial Motor Vehicle); Must have a valid DOT card Driver must be at least 21 years old
Excepted Interstate (FEDERAL) – I am exempt from the qualification requirements under 49 CFR Part 391 of Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations
 Driver currently drives interstate <u>only</u> under excepted transportation or operations listed in 49 CFR Part 390.3 (f) School bus designed to carry more than 10 passengers including the driver; Transportation performed by Federal, State or an agency of State government;
 Occasional transportation of personal property not for compensation and not in the interest of commercial enterprise; Transporting human remains, or sick or injured persons;
 Operating fire trucks and rescue vehicles while involved in emergency and related operations; Operating a vehicle designed to carry 9-15 passengers including the driver not for direct compensation;
 Adriver transporting propane for winter heating fuel or a driver responding to a pipeline emergency; Transporting farm operation related machinery, supplies or custom-harvested crops; or
 Beekeeper in the seasonal transportation of bees. Driver must be at least 21 years old.
Non-Excepted Intrastate (STATE RESTRICTED)—I meet the qualification requirements of U.C.A. 53-3-303.5.
Driver has a federally disqualifying medical condition;
 Must be accompanied by a Utah IntrastateWaiver card; The driver does not meet the guidelines to obtain a valid DOT Medical Card under 49 CFR part 391;
 Must obtain a state DOT certificate marked for accompanied by a waiver/exemption;
 Must complete any medical reports required by the Driver License Division; Must obtain a K restriction on the license and may only drive intrastate commerce.
Excepted Intrastate (STATE RESTRICTED) – I meet the requirements of 49 CFR 391 with the exception that the driver is under 21 years of age.
 Driver is <u>under</u> 21 years old; Has a valid DOT Medical card:
Must have a K restriction added to the license;
Not eligible to drive interstate because they are under age 21.
CERTIFICATION
I understand that it is a Class B Misdemeanor to knowingly and willfully provide false information on Medical Self Certification and may result in the disqualification of my driver license pursuant to Utah Code Ann. § 76-8-504. I hereby declare under criminal penalty of the State of Utah that the information contained in this application is true and correct.

Certify Date_

Date of Birth

Signature