
COMMERCIAL DRIVER LICENSE MEDICAL SELF CERTIFICATION 

49 CFR Part 383.71 and U.C.A. 53-3-410.1 require all CDL holders that operate or expect to operate a commercial 
motor vehicle (CMV) must meet the certification requirements outlined below. Please read the following list of options to 
determine which medical certification applies to the type of driving you are engaged in. 

For the medical certification process to be complete, this form must be submitted to the Division: 
• every two (2) years; or
• upon renewal of your DOT card or Utah Intrastate Waiver card; or
• upon the issuance of any CDL driver license; or
• if the status indicated below changes.

Send form to:  Fax # (801) 957-8633,  Email dlmedcert@utah.gov,  or  Mail to: CDL Med Cert, 
 PO BOX 144501 
 Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4501 

CDL 42  Rev 7-19 

SELF-CERTIFICATION (Check only  one  box for the category that applies to you) 

INTERSTATE INTRASTATE

CERTIFICATION 
I understand that it is a Class B Misdemeanor to knowingly and willfully provide false information on Medical Self Certification and may result in the 
disqualification of my driver license pursuant to Utah Code Ann. § 76-8-504. I hereby declare under criminal penalty of the State of Utah that the 
information contained in this application is true and correct. 

Name Date of Birth DL# 

Signature  Date 

INTERSTATE DRIVER 
Non-Excepted Interstate – I meet the qualification requirements 
under 49 CFR 391 of the Federal Motor Carrier Safety 
Regulations.   
Excepted Interstate – I am exempt from the qualification 
requirements under 49 CFR Part 391 of Federal Motor Carrier 
Safety Regulations 

INTRASTATE DRIVER 
Non-Excepted Intrastate – I meet the qualification 
requirements of 53-3-303.5.  
Excepted Intrastate – I meet the requirements of 49 
CFR 391 with the exception that the driver is under 21 
years of age. 

Non-Excepted Interstate 
• Driver drives interstate or intrastate commerce and holds a

Commercial Driver License (This includes drivers that are not
currently operating a Commercial Motor  Vehicle);

• Must have a valid DOT card
• Driver must be at least 21 years old

Excepted Interstate 
• Driver currently drives interstate only under excepted transportation 

or operations listed in 49 CFR Part 390.3 (f)
o School bus designed to carry more than 10 passengers including 

the driver;
o Vehicle used by Federal, State or an agency of State government;
o Occasional transportation of personal property not for 

compensation;
o Transporting human remains, or sick or injured persons;
o Operating fire trucks and rescue vehicles;
o Operating a vehicle designed to carry 9-15 passengers including 

the driver not for direct compensation;
o A driver transporting propane for winter heating or a driver 

responding to a pipeline emergency;
o Transporting agricultural products, farm machinery or farm 

supplies;
o Beekeeper in the seasonal transportation of bees

• Driver must be at least 21 years old.

Non-Excepted Intrastate 
• Must be accompanied by a Utah Intrastate Waiver card;
• The driver does not meet the guidelines to obtain a valid

DOT Medical Card under 49 CFR part 391;
o Must complete any medical reports required by the

Driver License Division;
• Must obtain a K restriction on the license and may only

drive intrastate commerce.

Excepted Intrastate 
• Driver is under 21 years old;
• Has a valid DOT Medical card;
• Must have a K restriction added to the license;
• Not eligible to drive interstate because they are under

age 21.
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