CDL Classes / Restrictions / Endorsements
Class A and B are both vehicles with a gross total weight rating of 26,001 pounds. Class A requiring a towed unit of 10,001 pounds or more (i.e., tractor-trailer.) Class B does not have a towed unit (i.e., bus, dump truck, etc.)
Class C is a vehicle which gross weight rating is below 26,001 pounds, but is carrying 16 or more passengers including the driver or is placarded for hazardous material.
A CDL might have restrictions placed on the license. Restrictions may be added to a CDL due to wearing corrective lenses, written knowledge tests not taken, or equipment used during the driving skills testing.
Utah CDL restrictions:
- A No restrictions
- B Driver must wear corrective lenses
- E Vehicle must be equipped with an automatic transmission
- J Which restricts the driver for any other CDL restriction deemed necessary by the division
- K Which restricts the driver to driving intrastate only any commercial motor vehicle
- L Which restricts the driver to driving a commercial motor vehicle not equipped with air brakes
- M Driver may not transport passengers using a Class A bus
- N Driver may not transport passengers using a Class A or B bus
- O No tractor-trailer CMV
- V Variance
A CDL can include select endorsements. Certain vehicles like a school bus or tanker vehicle can only be driven when the proper endorsement is added to the CDL. All CDL endorsements are an additional $9.00.
Here is a list of all endorsements that can be added to a Utah CDL:
- H – Hazmat (Hazardous Materials)
- N – Tanker
- X – Tanker/Hazmat Combination
- T – Doubles and Triples
- P – Passenger
- S – School Bus
The hazmat endorsement allows a driver to drive a CMV carrying hazardous material in placard amounts. Under the US Patriot Act, this endorsement requires the driver to pass a Federal TSA and DOT background check every five (5) years in order for it to be applied to a driver license. The background could take from 30 days to 90 days to complete and can cost from $80.00 – $110.00.
This endorsement requires a 30-question written knowledge test every five (5) years. No driving skills test required. A hazmat or passenger endorsement is required for a Class C CDL.
The tanker endorsement allows a driver to drive a tank vehicle over 1,000 gallons. This endorsement requires a 20-question written knowledge test. No driving skills test required.
The X endorsement is a combination of the hazmat and tanker endorsement. This endorsement is required for transporting materials such as gasoline. Requires driver to pass a TSA background check. See the hazmat endorsement above for details on how to apply. The total fee for this endorsement is $18.00. This endorsement requires a 30-question hazmat written knowledge test and a 20-question tanker written knowledge test. No driving skills test required.
The doubles and triples endorsement is only allowed with a Class A CDL. It allows a driver to pull 2 to 3 trailers at once. This endorsement requires a 20-question written knowledge test. No driving skills test required.
The passenger endorsement allows a driver to transport 16 or more persons, including the driver. Available for a Class A, B or C type vehicles. This endorsement requires a 20-question written knowledge test and a driving skills test in a representative vehicle.
The school bus endorsement is an addition to the passenger endorsement. Allows a driver to transport 16 or more persons, including the driver in a school bus. The fee for both of these endorsements is $18.00. This endorsement requires a 20-question passenger written knowledge test and a 25-question school bus written knowledge test. The school bus written knowledge test must be taken again when you renew the driver license. A driving skills test is required in a representative vehicle (school bus.)