Identification Card FAQs
What information do I need for an ID Card?
Please refer to our Required Documentation page for documentation needed to obtain a Utah state identification card. There is a $23.00 charge for an ID card. (An out-of-state ID is not acceptable proof of identification.)
Do I have to have a social security card to apply for a first time Utah ID?
Does an identification card ever expire?
Yes; the ID Card expires five (5) years following issuance of the card.
Can anyone get an ID?
Yes; however, If you are under the age of 16, a parent or legal guardian must accompany you to obtain an ID so they can sign the application, and a DPC applicant cannot obtain an ID card.
Do I have to take a test to obtain an ID?
What if I lost my Utah ID card?
For a replacement ID, you must appear at a Driver License office and bring two (2) documents of Utah residence address. See our Required Documentation page to see what works as proof. The fee is $23.00 and will be valid for five (5) years.
Can I renew my ID card on the internet?
Yes; eligible applicants will be sent a letter to notify them of their eligibility and the process to complete in order to renew their valid ID card.
Can I have both an ID card and driver license in my possession at the same time?
No; effective July 1, 2012 it is against the law to possess both a Utah driver license and Utah identification card.
What if I haven’t received my identification card in the mail?
Please allow 4-6 weeks for processing. After that time if you have not received your identification card, please contact our Customer Service Section at 801.965.4437 to find out if your identification card has been returned to our Central office, or check the status online to see if it is still processing.