Ignition Interlock Restriction Information (IID)
When a driver is ignition interlock restricted, they must not drive any vehicle, including motorcycles, without an ignition interlock device installed.
The driver license record is updated to show the ignition interlock restriction, and the driver is notified by mail of the restriction. Law enforcement has access to see the ignition interlock restriction and will issue a citation when they make contact with a driver who is driving a vehicle without an ignition interlock device installed.
If a driver is convicted for operating or being in actual physical control of a motor vehicle in this state without an ignition interlock device, their driving privilege will be revoked for a period of one (1) year from the conviction date.
An individual who is ignition interlock restricted shall have their driving privilege suspended. An ignition interlock device suspension may be cleared by one (1) of the following:
- Payment of reinstatement fee and receipt of electronic notification from an ignition interlock system provider showing proof of the installation of an ignition interlock system on the person’s vehicle or the vehicle the person will be operating;
- Payment of a reinstatement fee and if the person does not own a vehicle or will not be operating a vehicle owned by another individual: electronic verification that the person does not have a vehicle registered in the person’s name in the state AND receipt of employer verification; or
- Payment of a reinstatement fee and if the person is not a resident of Utah, verify person does not own a vehicle in the State of Utah, electronic verification that the person is licensed in the person’s state of residence or is in the process of obtaining a license in the person’s state of residence.
If the ignition interlock device is removed prior to the ending date of the ignition interlock restriction period, the driver license will be re-suspended until an ignition interlock device is installed and an additional reinstatement fee is paid.
Ignition interlock system providers and installers shall be certified by the Driver License Division and will be required to submit an electronic notice of installation and removal of an ignition interlock device in a vehicle to the Driver License Division.
Effective May 3, 2023, upon receipt by the division of any notice of a breath violation or failure to calibrate/monitor the ignition device, results in a 60-day extension to the ignition interlock restricted driver for each violation.
The following offense types will result in a driver being placed under an ignition interlock restricted driver status:
- A conviction for driving under the influence (DUI) (UCA 41-6a-502.)
- A conviction for an interlock-restricted driver violation (UCA 41-6a-518.2.)
- A second or subsequent driving under the influence offense (DUI), alcohol-related reckless offense, impaired driving offense, metabolite offense, or driving with a measurable amount of controlled substance in the body and causing serious bodily injury or death within 10 years (UCA 41-6a-501.)
- Refusal to submit to a chemical test resulting in an Administrative revocation (UCA 41-6a-520.)
- Automobile homicide (UCA 76-5-207.)
- A conviction for a refusal to submit to a chemical test (UCA 41-6a-521.1)