Minor CDL Original
Requirements for obtaining a first-time Utah commercial driver license (CDL):
- You need to hold a regular Class D driver license for a minimum of one (1) year.
- You must be at least 18 years of age to apply.
- Research which class of CDL you need.
- Research any endorsements needed.
- You will need to obtain your DOT card and provide a copy to be saved on your record.
- You will need to visit one of our CDL Driver License offices.
- You will take a photo upon arrival.
- You will be required to pass the eye test.
- Submit the nonrefundable fee of $52.00, plus each CDL endorsement is $9.00; motorcycle endorsement is $18.00.
- Bring proof of identity (name and date of birth.)
- Bring social security card.
- Bring two (2) documents of Utah residence address.
- Visit our Required Documentation page for what is acceptable proof of each type of document required.
- Take the written knowledge test (based on endorsements needed.) When passed, you will be issued a commercial learner permit (CLP.) You can study this CDL driver manual to prepare for the written knowledge test.
- Complete the required entry-level driver training. Once complete, you will be eligible to take the CDL skills test, the S or P skills test, or the H written knowledge test. For more information about the ELDT regulations and the Training Provider registry, click here.
- Perform a driving skills test in the appropriate vehicle for the Class of CDL you are applying for. You can complete your driving skills test by a Third Party Tester or a Driver License Examiner. An appointment is required if taking your driving skills test at the Driver License Office you first applied at (you can only attempt ONE (1) driving skills test per day.) Once you have passed all your testing, return to the same office you started the process, and an examiner will confirm your test scores and issue you a temporary CDL. **Military personnel may qualify for a waiver of the CDL driving skills test. Please see our Written and Driving Skills Tests page for more information.
- Complete the driver license application online.
- Once you have completed the application, you will be directed to schedule a CDL appointment for your visit. Currently, our Farmington, Logan, and Tooele offices do not process CDL’s.
- Click here to get started.
Note: If the name from your driver license or identity card is different than the name on your identity document (e.g., birth certificate or passport), it must be accompanied by legal documentation authorizing the name change. These include a certified state marriage certificate, divorce decree, adoption, citizenship, guardianship, or court documents indicating the name change.
Note: By law, you may not possess more than one REAL ID compliant certificate at a time (e.g., a Utah driver license and a Colorado ID.)
After all requirements for a CDL have been completed, you will receive a temporary CDL with a photo on the same day. The completed CDL with an expiration date of 5 years will then be mailed to you in approximately 4-6 weeks.