Driver License Menu

Identification Card


Anyone of any age can obtain an identification card.  Although, persons under 16 years of age must have a parent or legal guardian sign for them.  DPC (driving privilege card) applicants are not eligible for an identification card.

To obtain an original identification card in Utah:

  • Fill out the identification card application online prior to your visit and bring with you.  Applications are available in the office, if needed.
  • SCHEDULE an identification card appointment for your visit.
  • Photo will be taken.
  • Provide proof of identity (name and DOB.)  Provide social security card.  Provide two (2) documents of your Utah residence address.  Visit our required documentation page for what is acceptable proof of each type of document required.
  • Submit the nonrefundable fee of $23.00.

If you have received a letter by mail indicating eligibility to renew online, click here.  If you have misplaced this letter and need the PIN number required to renew online, please call our Customer Service Section at 801.965.4437 or toll free at 888.353.4224.


Renew your Utah identification card:

  • Fill out the identification card application online prior to your visit and bring with you.  Applications are available in the office, if needed.
  • SCHEDULE an identification card appointment for your visit.
  • Photo will be taken.
  • Provide current Utah identification card.
  • If your residence address has changed from what is on your current identification card, you will be required to provide two (2) documents of your Utah residence address.  Visit the required documentation page for what is acceptable proof.
  • Submit the nonrefundable fee of $23.00.

If the name from your identification card or identity card is different than the name on your identity document (e.g., birth certificate, passport) it must be accompanied by legal documentation authorizing the name change.  These include a certified state marriage certificate, divorce decree, adoption, citizenship, guardianship, or court documents indicating the name change.


Replace a lost or stolen Utah identification card:

  • Fill out the identification card application online prior to your visit and bring with you.  Applications are available in the office, if needed.
  • SCHEDULE an identification card appointment for your visit.
  • Photo will be taken.
  • If your Utah residence address has changed from what is on your current Utah identification card, you will be required to provide two (2) documents of your Utah residence address.  Visit the required documentation page for what is acceptable proof.  You can also submit the address change online to avoid having to provide proof when coming into the office to obtain a new identification card.
  • Submit a nonrefundable fee of $23.00.

HOMELESS FEE WAIVER
The Driver License Division shall waive the application fee for a Utah identification card if the applicant provides written verification of homelessness.  Click to see a fact sheet and fee waiver form.


By law you cannot possess a Utah driver license and a Utah identification card at the same time. 

If you are no longer able to drive due to medical reasons or age, you may surrender your Utah driver license for a Utah state identification card free of charge.  You must appear in person at a Driver License office to take a photo and sign the identification card application.

After all requirements for an identification card have been successfully completed you will receive a temporary identification card with a photo on the same day.  The completed identification card will then be mailed to you in approximately 8-10 weeks and will be valid for five (5) years.