Driver education requirements vary by age.
17 years of age and under need to complete a driver education course and hold a learner permit for 6 months. (An equivalent out-of-state permit may be counted towards the time held requirement.)
18 years of age need to complete a driver education course and does not need to hold their learner permit for any length of time.
19 years of age and older need to complete a driver education course OR instead you can hold a Utah learner permit for 90 days and complete at least 40-hours of driving (10 at night.)
If you are coming from another state, out-of-state driver education completion certificates must meet Utah’s required hours. Most out-of-state certificates will not have the observation training listed as it is not required in some states. If training is needed in order to be complete, you may make up the remaining hours at an approved Utah driving school (see below.) Out-of-state online or home study certificates will not be accepted.
Completion certificates must be on letter head or have a state approved seal and should not be mistaken as a license to drive.
These are the required hours to complete a driver education course:
- 27 hours of high school classroom instruction, or 18 hours of commercial/private school, or 30 hours of Utah approved online/home study course;
- 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction; and
- 6 hours of observation.
Driver education course in Utah may be completed at:
- Your local high school;
- Through a commercial/private driver education school (view commercial/private driver education schools below); or
- Approved online/home study driver education:
Please be aware that there are many online driver education courses offered on the internet. These courses may offer driver education or practice testing, but they have not been approved by the Driver License Division and cannot be accepted as proof of driver education completion.
If you took an approved online/home study course the information will be entered electronically and submitted onto your driving record at the Driver License Division.
DRIVING SKILLS TEST
If you have never been issued a driver license (anywhere) you will be required to complete a driving skills test.
If you are licensed in another state or country, you may be required to complete a driving skills test before obtaining a Utah driver license.
There are two options for applicants who must complete a driving skills test:
- An applicant may choose to take a driving skills test with the Driver License Division by completing the application process, passing the written knowledge test and scheduling an appointment at one of our driver license offices. Applicant must supply the vehicle for the driving skills test; or
- An applicant may take a driving skills test with a commercial driving school (see above link.)
To test with a third party tester at a commercial driving school you may be charged an additional fee and you must have the following:
- A license from another country, or a learners permit issued by the Driver License Division; and
- Provide the tester with proof of identification.
An applicant may not use the services of a third party tester when:
- An applicant has a Utah driver license and has been requested to take a driving skills test by a physician, other medical professional or by a law enforcement officer; or
- An applicant has been requested by the Driver License Division to complete additional hours of driver training.
The Driver License Division under the authority of U.C.A. 53-3-501 and Utah Administrative Rule R708-2 regulates commercial driving schools.