Driver License Menu

Motor Vehicle Record (MVR)

Reports on a person’s driving record (also known as a Motor Vehicle Record or MVR) shall be released by the Utah Driver License Division to requester’s who qualify under the permissible uses of the Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA.)  An MVR will display citations, arrests, suspensions and revocations. Most information is displayed for 3 years.  DUI or drug-related charges will display for 10 years.

 

How to obtain a copy of your driving record online:

Anyone can obtain their own MVR by clicking here.

If your driver license number begins with a zero, you do not need to enter the zeros.

MVR Interactive allows a company to pull an MVR one at a time by creating a subscriber account with Utah Interactive.  Companies must identify if they are obtaining a regular MVR or CDL MVR and sign an affirmation that they are allowed under DPPA or FMCSA regulations to obtain the MVR.  Click here to access the web application.

Point to point service/subscriber allows a motor carrier company to use third party vendor to pull CDL MVR’s on behalf of the motor carrier company via a point to point web service with Utah Interactive.

A Motor carrier wishing to pull their Driver’s MVR, must set up an account with Utah interactive and complete a Motor Carrier Account.

A Vendor must set up an account with Utah Interactive and complete a Vendor Agreement. This agreement will be obtained through Utah Interactive.

The Motor Carrier Company wishing to use that vendor must set up an account with Utah Interactive and complete a Motor Carrier Account. They can then choose which vendors they would like to access their driver’s information.

To get started click here: https://secure.utah.gov/mvr-personal


How to obtain a copy of your driving record (MVR) in person:

  • Visit one of our driver license offices;
  • Fill out form DLD60 for a regular or CDL driving record and pay a fee of $8.00 to the examiner; or
  • For a certified MVR, you will need to visit our Administrative Office at 4501 S 2700 W 3rd floor in Salt Lake City (Calvin Rampton Complex), fill out form DLD60 and form DLD266 and pay a fee of $10.75. (certified MVR may take 2 or more weeks to process)

To obtain a driving record for someone other than yourself in person you must qualify under the permissible uses outlined in DPPA.  Please use form DLD60b for regular driver (driver’s signature must be notarized.)  CDL driving record can only be released to the driver or the employer with a notarized release.  For requestor’s that qualify under permissible use 1, 4, 6, or 8, please use form DLD60a.


How to obtain a copy of your driving record (MVR) by mail:

If you are unable to visit a driver license office and need a copy of your driving record, complete the required form, and submit the MVR fee of $8.00.  Once the form is received we will mail back a copy of your driving record.

For an individual who is a regular or CDL driver and wants their MVR complete form DLD60m (requires the driver’s signature to be notarized and dated within 90 days of the date the form is submitted.)

CDL employer or potential CDL employer who needs a driver’s CDL MVR, fill out form DLD60b (requires the driver’s signature to be notarized and dated within 90 days of the date the form is submitted.)

Insurance agencies or employers to get a regular or CDL MVR, fill out form DLD60b.

Any other requestor for a regular MVR, fill out form DLD60b (requires the driver’s signature to be notarized and dated within 90 days of the date the form is submitted.)

A requestor who qualifies under permissible use 1, 4, 6 or 8, please use form DLD60a.

If you need a certified driving record please complete forms DLD60m and DLD266m, send payment of $10.75 and specify records requested. (Certified MVR may take 2 or more weeks to process.)

In an effort to protect the privacy of the subject of the record, we are requiring a notarized signature to release the records through the mail.

Checks should be made payable to Utah Department of Public Safety — Do Not Send Cash

Department of Public Safety
Driver License Division
PO Box 144501
Salt Lake City, Utah 84114-4501