Adult Driving Privilege Card (DPC) Original
A person who would need to obtain a Utah driving privilege card (DPC):
- Individuals who are unable to establish legal/lawful presence.
- Individuals who are ineligible for a U.S. social security number and must obtain an individual tax identification number (ITIN) from the Internal Revenue Service.
- Individuals meeting these requirements would not be eligible to obtain a commercial driver license or identification card.
- You are a resident of Utah; and
- You are required to obtain a Utah learner permit or DPC in order to legally drive while here in Utah. The valid DPC allows the holder to operate a motor vehicle in Utah, but may not be used as a means of identification by any Utah government entities.
Requirements for obtaining a first time original DPC:
- You will need to visit one of our Driver License offices.
- You will take a photo upon arrival.
- You will be required to pass the eye test.
- Submit a nonrefundable fee of $25.00 for fingerprint processing and $32.00 for license.
- Bring proof of identity (name and date of birth.)
- Bring social security card or individual tax identification number (ITIN.)
- Bring two (2) documents of Utah residence address.
- Visit our Required Documentation page to see what is acceptable proof of each type of document required.
- Bring completed fingerprint card and photograph from local agency.
- Because you are an adult and over the age of 19, driver education is not required, however, you have three (3) options:
- Complete the Traffic Safety and Trends Exam (not required if providing evidence of a driving privilege from another state or country.)
- Written knowledge test required (50 questions if never licensed – 25 questions open-book if previously licensed.)
- Driving skills test required for all unless providing evidence of a driving privilege from another U.S. state.
- These written knowledge and driving skills tests may be done through the driver education course, or if you are opting out of the driver education course, you will take the written knowledge test when you schedule your driver license appointment, and you will need to make a second appointment for the driving skills test portion after the written knowledge test is passed.)
- Complete the driver license application online.
- Once you have completed the application you will be directed to schedule an original appointment for your visit.
- Click here to get started.
Note: If the name from your driver license or identity card is different than the name on your identity document (e.g., birth certificate, passport) it must be accompanied by legal documentation authorizing the name change. These include a certified state marriage certificate, divorce decree, adoption, citizenship, guardianship, or court documents indicating the name change.
Note: By law you may not possess more than one REAL ID compliant certificate at a time (e.g., Utah driver license and a Colorado ID.)
For a list of approved document translators click here.
After all requirements for a DPC have been successfully completed, you will receive a temporary document that is a receipt only. The completed Driving Privilege Card (DPC) will expire on the birth date in the first year from the date the card was issued or renewed and will then be mailed to you in approximately 4-6 weeks.