Driver License FAQs
Is my Utah driver license REAL ID compliant?
Yes! Utah has been issuing REAL ID-compliant driver licenses since January 1, 2010. REAL ID-compliant cards are marked with a gold star at the top of the card. The Department of Homeland Security has extended the REAL ID enforcement deadline until May 7, 2025. At that time, you will be required to have a REAL ID-compliant card to board an airplane and visit certain federal buildings and nuclear plants. For more information, click here.
What forms of ID do I need if I lost my Utah License?
To replace a lost Utah driver license, you must appear at a Driver License Office and provide two (2) proofs of documentation. You can visit our Required Documentation page to see what works as proof. This applies to duplicate, renewal, and lapsed (expired) Utah driver licenses.
What do I need for a first-time Utah driver license?
To apply for a first-time Utah driver license, you must be at least 16 years of age; have held a Utah learner permit for six (6) months (if under 18 years of age); furnish proof of a prior driver license or proof of driver education if 18 and under (19+ does not require driver education); provide two (2) proofs of your Utah residence, proof of identity, full social security number and legal/lawful presence. Visit our Required Documentation to see what works as proof.
A certified marriage or court document is also required if the applicant has changed names.
A U.S. military-issued driver license is accepted with the exact requirements as a license issued by a foreign country; in addition to all other licensing requirements, the applicant must pass eye, written knowledge, and driving skills test.
Do I have to have a Utah identification card to obtain a Utah driver license?
No, effective July 1, 2012, it is against the law to possess a Utah driver license and Utah identification card.
How early can I renew my Utah driver license?
You can renew your Utah driver license six (6) months prior to the expiration date.
Can I get an adult license prior to my 21st birthday?
Our system will not allow us to issue an adult license until the individual has reached their 21st birthday, even if the 21st birthday falls on a weekend or holiday.
How long do I have to switch my license from another state?
Utah law does not have a grace period to change an out-of-state driver license to a Utah license. It simply requires a resident to have a valid Utah driver license when driving in Utah. A person is considered a Utah resident if the person:
- Enters the state with the intention of making Utah their home.
- Remains in the state for a period of six (6) months or more during any calendar year.
- Obtains a driver license or registers a motor vehicle in Utah.
- Obtains privileges not extended to non-residents, including school tuition.
- Are gainfully employed in Utah (this does not apply if you are on a temporary assignment in the state.)
I’ve lost my out-of-state license; now what?
To apply in Utah for a license without your out-of-state license, you must present original or copies certified by the issuing agency showing identity, legal/lawful presence, full social security number or ITIN, two (2) documents of your Utah residence, and evidence of name change, if applicable. Visit our Required Documentation page to see what works as proof. The Utah Driver License Division must be able to verify your current driver license. We will contact your prior state electronically to verify a “valid” driving status. This check takes a minimum of 24 hours. You will then have to pass an eye test and a written knowledge test that is 25 questions open-book. If your out-of-state driver license has expired, you may also be required to pass the driving skills test.
Can I get a Utah license if my driving status in another state is “not valid?”
No, you must first clear the license action(s) with the other state(s) before completing the process for a driver license in Utah.
If I am under 18 and need a duplicate driver license, do I need my parent to sign again for me?
No, once your parent has signed for financial responsibility, they are not required to sign again.
How long will it take to get my driver license in the mail, and what if I have not received it?
When you apply for your driver license at one of our offices or you renew online, processing will take 4-6 weeks. After that time, if you have not received your driver license you can check the status to see if it is still processing.
What if I am going to be out of state when my Utah driver license expires, for example, temporarily assigned to work out of state, attending school out-of-state, or serving a church mission?
Suppose your Utah driver license will expire while you are temporarily out of state. In that case, you can apply to renew your Utah driver license more than six (6) months prior to the expiration date if you provide proof that you will be absent from the state during the six (6) month period prior to the expiration date of the license. You will also need to provide the documents required for the renewal process (refer to the Required Documentation page on these requirements.)
Is it true I don’t need to take a driver education course if I am 19 and older?
Correct; if you are 19 and older, you do not need to take a driver education course to obtain your Utah driver license. However, without proof of a previous state or country driver license or driver education, you will be required to pass a written knowledge test, carry a Utah learner permit for 90 days, complete 40 hours of driving (10 hours after sunset), and pass a driving skills test.